Hallo Besucher, der Thread wurde 4,3k mal aufgerufen und enthält 4 Antworten

letzter Beitrag von TheRyk am

writing style

• as i've written a bunch of articles, i am always have some problems with the general writing style.

how is it with uppercase/lowercase letters? i tend to write everything small, except the beginning of the sentence, specific names (Commodore) or shortcuts (CPU, NOP, FLI). by mistake i've also written a "raster time" article instead of "Raster time" and i am not able to change this as far as i've seen. just asking this b/c i guess it's good to have some kind of conformity inside the wiki.

on a sidenote i must say that i try not to translate the german articles, i gather informations from different sources and write up my own, trying to write it so that a total beginner maybe also can use the given information. as in the raster time article, it's also hard to stay in the topic, because you cannot define it without explaining the vic chip inner workings a bit. (i added the article b/c i often read of "raster time" but no real definition could be found anywhere)

• As the C64 wiki should have a certain standard you should try and keep to the writing rules of the English language e.g. I should always be written with a capital letter, same with the names of months (but you know - nobody is perfect ;))

If I remember correctly we decided that article names should always start with a capital letter - it is like a headline or a chapter in a book, also in the English language this is written with a capital letter in the first word. Depending on what follows the words after that are written with capital letters (names) or not (other things, sorry there is no example coming to my mind now).